A fun lesson

Morale and engagement has been low amongst both staff and students, since the announcement two days ago that we would be remaining in lockdown for possibly up to 2 more months. If this happens Melbourne, will be the longest locked down venue in the world! The Delta COVID-19 virus has increased our daily numbers. Remote learning will continue on!

For my year 7 and 8 ICT class I decided to just do some fun things. My grandchildren had shown me “Guess the Movie in Emojis” on youtube. After talking about special days around the world, students used the chat of MS Teams, Live Meeting, to share the last movie they watched. I then played this video from youtube:-

I paused a little longer before the answer was given on youtuve, to give me a chance to see what they had guessed in the chat. One student asked if they could use their microphone. Before I could say ‘no’, I started to hear excited chatter amongst the students, all using microphones trying to work out which movie they were. Even my quietest of students were providing a voice I felt like I was back in the face to face classroom! I am sure the students did too – they could hear each other, work together efficiently etc.

It was a great activity and I will remember that microphones on (simultaneously) can connect us all in powerful ways when online.

Students then created three of their own “”Guess the Movie in Emojis” and shared in Posts in the ICT Team.

Leave a comment