Making IT Happen Award

lucy picture of me

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) endows a number of awards at its annual conference. Many of the awards are given through the various PLN groups but one of the major awards is the Making IT Happen. This year 6 educators were given this award and to my utter surprise I was one of the recipients. Although I am not one to brag, this award is such a prestigious award that I am going to dedicate a post to it and thereby thank my amazing PLN (Professional Learning Network), the students I teach, the school I teach in, Hawkesdale P12 College and the staff I work with as I hope they are all proud to be part of it!

I teach in a small rural school of 220 students from foundation (age 5) through to year 12 (age 18 years old). We do not have mobile phone service either where I work or live, so these two factors make it even more amazing and precious that someone from a relatively remote rural area can receive an award with many of the IT greats. I need to thank my special friend and colleague Julie Lindsay for her role in the granting of this award. Julie has been a wonderful mentor and role model and someone whom I look up to and admire for all she has achieved in flattening classroom walls.

An email invitation came through, just before I left for San Antonio, USA (where #ISTE17 was held) to a luncheon at the Grand Hyatt. I accepted almost immediately as I thought it was a wonderful way to network with others and a privilege to be asked to the ISTE luncheon. However, two hours later, I also received notice that the poster session, I had applied for “The Magic of Mystery Skype” had been changed from early morning to 2 hours over lunchtime. The luncheon would now clash with the last hour of the poster. I told my Australian colleagues that I didn’t think I could go and was there someone else who might like to take up the special opportunity. However, Tina (who I didnt know was my minder) kept encouraging me to come, so I did!

our table at award dinner

What a surprise to hear my name announced as one of the 6 awardees! Plus I had to make speech and now have no idea what I actually said, as impromptu speeches are not my forte.

You can read more :-

I would like to thank my  wonderful family, my PLN, the Hawkesdale and district community, Hawkesdale P12 College staff and students, all the many people who have helped me in this journey and Julie Lindsay for nominating me.

carol photo of me cropped

 

3 responses to “Making IT Happen Award

  1. Congratulations! I’m so happy you got this award! You deserve it!

    • Hi Pat, thanks for the comment. I appreciate it and still find it hard to believe that I received the award. Thanks for being part of my network.

  2. Anne, I am so happy for you. You deserved this. You continue to amaze me with your energy! What a supercharged lifelong learner, you are.

Leave a Reply

