A snip of Vijaydashami Celebration in Kerala India

women1

A skype text message was sent by my esteemed colleague, Sebastian Panakal from Kerala, India asking whether I had time to connect over skype. On answering the video call, I was transported into a room where I could hear women singing.

sebastian croppped

Sebastian turned the webcam so that I could watch Women of the Wiki taking part in an initiation into the world of music as part of Vijaydashami, an important Hindu event  and an auspicious occasion for the Indian people.

Upon hanging up on the skype call, I checked my group messages to read a post on using Sway and Skype in the classroom involving another special friend, Stacey Ryan. This article mentioned the new snip. The snipping tool for windows machines has been one of my most used tools but now it has got better and allows recordings and screencastings, embedding and other ways of sharing. See my first attempt at a snip by clicking on this link,  using one of the pics I took when virtually in India.

Leave a Reply

