A keynote that brought much laughter but also some serious messages

Two Annes

Friday and Saturday, July 24th and 25th was the annual DLTV Conference (Digtial Learning and Teaching conference).

The bloopers!

I sat near the front for the opening keynote for the day with Celia Coffa. A lady jumped in the seat beside me and said she would just quickly sit here for a few moments. I introduced myself and found out her name was also Anne. I wondered why she just had a stack of papers in her hand as everyone else had a computer or mobile device! But each to their own!

Whilst the formalities of the day were being announced, I composed a tweet to state who the opening keynote was – a Comedian – Anne Edmonds and searched for her website so the link could go on the tweet. As I loaded it up, the lady beside me said that that was her! Oh dear, I was sitting next to the keynote speaker who has won an Australian award for her efforts in comedy work! I did tell I came from the country!

Anne was a great presenter and reminded us that failure can be the best teacher. She constantly learns through failures as a comedian.

and this tweet sums up another pearl of wisdom from the keynote

It was great to start the day with a laugh but to also reflect on some serious messages. Anne is well known for her comedy on Raylene the Racist that reflects typical Aussie humour..

As a teacher, it is good to hear from people in other professions to broaden our knowledge and perspective!

One response to “A keynote that brought much laughter but also some serious messages

  1. Great summary Anne. It was so funny watching you realise who was next to you. Another reason to laugh ! Thanks

    Celia

Leave a Reply

