When an amazing network responds NOW!

wordle on needs and wants

Volunteering to be a participant in  the Economics and Business Intensive Engagement phase of the Australian Curriculum, I was required to create artefacts. I chose to write up units of work for year 5 on “Choices – Where do people shop and why?” and another on Crowdfunding for year 10. As usual I procrastinated and left it until the last few days to complete them.

Here is how an amazing, amazing online global network helped me create these units of work:-

  • Tapping into the wonderful world of technology, a brief shopping survey was created using google forms. Twitter and skype groups were used to share the link and within 36 hours, more than 40 people have responded to this survey from 9 different countries sharing a rich picture of similarities and differences on where people shop and what they buy there. My teaching friend Katherine from Austria shared the link on the HLW Little Skypers facebook group and students also filled in the survey.
  • Endang Palupi was online in skype when the survey link was shared. She text chatted  to say that she was about to go to a special market in her home town of Indonesia

” “ok🙂.. this market only for special moment as we will celebrate idul fitri , poor people could celebrate it wit cheap price on this market.” and offered to take photos for me.

  • An amazing collection of photos is now shared with me over facebook to use! Thanks so much, Endang. One of the foci of the new Australian curriculum is our engagement with Asia. These images fit in perfectly with that and will trigger much classroom discussion.
  • I wanted to create a collage of pictures to start a discussion on shopping destination options. However, I could not find a shopping centre in my albums, copyright free ones were hard to find and I live at least 40 minutes from the closest shopping centre. A tweet request went out. Immediately, @mgraffin offered to share some pics he had recently taken of the luxurious ultra modern Qatar shopping centres. However, an Australian shopping centre was preferable and to my delight, @craff2008 offered to stop at Eastlands and take some for me before school. How fantastic! A wonderful collection of inside/outside images were share with me via twitter immediately. Thanks Clare and Michael so much.
  • I made the google sheet public in case others would like to use the results in their classes. As soon as I did this, responses stopped ‘falling’ into the sheet. I turned to my oz emailing list for help and within half an hour had the answer. I had to change the response direction. Thanks Damien Kee, @betchaboy and @mgraffin for helping me solve this annoying issue.
  • @megsamanda became my critical friend on the crowdsourcing unit. This was shared with google document. Thanks Amanda for your suggestions.

As the units of work are due in tomorrow, I have an amazing set of resources, images etc within 36 hours to enrich learning, thanks to an incredible global network. Thanks everyone!

collage on where to shop

Leave a Reply

