Twitter 201: Build Your PLN with Advanced Tips and Tools with Susan Bearden

This was the title of one of the Spotlight sessions at #iste13 twitter  This blog post is part of a series of posts sharing some of my favourite learning at the ISTE conference.

Why chosen? Twitter has played a huge role in developing a professional network. As I use twitter extensively and effectively, I wondered what more could be learnt about twitter and  this is one session I nearly dismissed. However, Susan Bearden @s_bearden kept tweeting her session, encouraging us to attend  and shared a great blog post on Thinking Before You Tweet prior to iste.

The outcome! – this was a great session in a theatre that was packed with tweeters, from which I learnt even more about twitter. Susan created a hashtag  for the session #twtr201 See Susan’s presentation and on slideshare or read some of my notes below:-

  • Twitter Lists for categorizing – can be private or public, can follow lists or use other people’s lists
  • Twitter chats – great PD, use columns in hootsuite, tweetdeck or tweetchat and add hashtags followed
  • Schedule the tweets to avoid tweet overload with hootsuite, tweetdeck or buffer
  • Use buffer app as it picks the best time to send the tweets out based on your followers.
  • Link shorteners when sharing website links eg tinyurl, google shortener, bitly Bit.ly allows you to customize the name to suit the topic and can create qr code.  Create the shortened url in bitly, copy it to your browser and add .qrcode to the url and it provides the qr code image.
  • Twitter clients for mobiles  – tweetings echofon tweetlist hootsuite native twitter app
  • Twitter as a search engine:- search for hashtags, words (might give more focussed content)
  • Twitter has an advanced search – key in a number of people in the advanced search, then key them in to tweetdeck and add them into a list
  • Geeky twitter stuff! Twitter analytics  Favstar twubs (follow twitter chat hashtags)
  • Hootsuite University – study all about twitter – get a pro account for 1 month and attend hootsuite university for 1 month free

Thanks Susan for sharing this great session.

8 responses to “Twitter 201: Build Your PLN with Advanced Tips and Tools with Susan Bearden

  1. Thanks for sharing your list – thinking about using twitter as part of BYOD teachers PD.

    • Hi Ria, looking at twitter would always be one of my first recommendations for PD especially if teachers will BYOD. Twitter makes a great search enging. Teachers can explore some hashtags that are or high interest to the teaching area that they are involved in before further exploration into using twitter. Cybraryman has a great list of classified hashtags

  2. Pingback: Twitter 201: Build Your PLN with Advanced Tips ...

  3. Anne,
    Thanks so much for attending my Twitter 201 session at ISTE13 and for sharing your experiences! I am glad you found it helpful. I love the idea of blogging about conference sessions you attend, what a great way to reinforce your learning. I think I will try that at my next conference!
    Warmly,
    Susan

    • Hi Susan, thanks for the comment. As I said I nearly didnt attend your session as I felt I knew almost all there was to twitter, but your obvious passion and tweeting brought me to it and I am so glad. I want to write posts on some of the most memorable sessions attended so that I can refer back to them when I have time. There were so many wonderful resources, ideas and experiences shared. Now I am starting to save for #iste14!

  4. Pingback: Twitter 201: Build Your PLN with Advanced Tips ...

  5. Pingback: Twitter 201: Build Your PLN with Advanced Tips and Tools with Susan Bearden « Analyzing Educational Technology

  6. Pingback: Using Twitter to create a Professional Learning Network: Connecting with your Tweeple | Teacher Techie

Leave a Reply

