I’m a newbie – and this is my preparation for ISTE12

From the depths of winter, one of the busiest times on our farm with lambing in full swing  and the closure of mid-year at my small rural school, I soon fly out to San Diego to attend ISTE 2012. Tis is  appearing daunting for me with the prospect of mixing with 22,000 or more participants. Fortunately, there are many social networking tools that I can use to be as best prepared as possible and many wonderful sharing people out there! Here is what I have done:-

Program

Youtube

Social Networking

  • Joined the ISTE Ning –the group for newcomers, the Aussies at ISTE group and other groups of personal interest. Liked the facebook page
  • Watched the recording of the ISTE 2012 Newcomers webinar specially prepared for those who are new. Despite some difficulties with audio, this had so much excellent advice. See Advice for Newcomers
  • Twitter: this has been the best sources of information. I use tweetdeck and have added four new columns –  #iste12,  #iste2012,  #isteHSq – (a game that has been set up) and another to keep up to date with @isteconnects as this will be used to announce fun happenings such as treatups, SIG events, and playground activities By being involved in the online game I have made more valuable contacts.

Bookmarking with Diigo

  • As recommendations come through twitter and blogs, I bookmark the urls in diigo for future reference.
Blogs – there have been so many wonderful blog posts with tips and advice. If I get time, I will add some of the ones that have helped me most, back in this post. One to follow though, will be the ISTE blog

eMail Lists There is some great advice and information from our Australian emailing list.

Apps for use at the conference:- Evernote, Tweetdeck, Trip It, Foursquare, Instagram, QRafter

Wanting to be involved in as much as possible, I hope to attend the

  • SocialEdCon 2012 unconference on the Saturday afternoon, provided I can get there in time
  • Attending the night basketball game
  • Global Education Summit See the flyer
  • Will hangout whenever possible in the bloggers’ café, the Newbie Lounge and the Social Butterfly Lounge for networking
  • Signed up for the Edtech Karaoke event on June 26

Getting involved

Global Education Summit  – will present and ignite session

Poster Session for the Flat Classroom Projects Tuesday 26th Table 13 from 10am -12noon together with other Flat Classroom Certified Teachers Sandy Wisneski, Kathy ScarpatoCindy Shultz (possibly). Please come and say hello as I would love to meet you.

Thanks everyone for all your helpful advice.

Business Cards – Yikes! I forgot all about these, so am off to try and print some. What else have I forgotten? Please comment below.

6 responses to “I’m a newbie – and this is my preparation for ISTE12

  1. Just look forward to your tweets along the way!!!

  2. To have an awesome time! We’ll be following you from back here in cold, miserable, Melbourne.

  3. Anne your trip sound so exciting, I’m looking forward to keeping up with you and the conference on Twitter. Enjoy and have heaps of fun🙂

  4. Pingback: Maps101 at ISTE2012 « Maps101 Blog

  5. Meeting of the Minds at ISTE 2012 will be an exhilarating experience for you. I am so happy for you (and for me – I can learn it all from you)

  6. Hi! Anne
    I’m sure this will be a most enriching and rewarding experience for you. Eagerly waiting to hear directly from you about the happenings there in the States! I’m sure you will definitely make Australia proud! All the best!

Leave a Reply

