Tech Talk Tuesdays: Social networking made easy with Edmodo


When: Tuesday, May 8th 4-5pm (Melbourne time, Australia gmt+10)

About the session: We’ve all heard the statistics, and rightly or wrongly Facebook and other sites are playing a major part in the day to day lives of our
students. For most schools concerns about safety mean that Facebook and the like is just too great a risk. Enter Edmodo, a social networking developed by teachers with education in mind. Simple to use, because access is controlled by group codes generated by the teacher, it is very safe. In this “Hands-on” session with John Pearce, participants will engage in a virtual exploration of Edmodo getting a feel for the ever expanding features provided within Edmodo.

About our presenter: John Pearce is an educational consultant based in Portarlington, Victoria, Australia. He previously taught in a number of primary schools and has won several awards for his work in the classroom. He has also presented at a number of conferences, statewide and nationally and internationally.

Here is the link to the recording

2 responses to “Tech Talk Tuesdays: Social networking made easy with Edmodo

  1. Donna Ritchie

    Hi Anne,
    I am learning from your posts and wanted to thank you for sharing. I am a 52 year old teacher librarian in School District 60 (Peace River North, B.C. Canada). I have taught for 23 years and presently work at a K-12 rural school with 330 students (Prespatou Elementary Secondary School). I am going to try to join this session tomorrow night (It starts at 11;00 pm my time and I am usually in bed by 10 pm)! I have never done anything like this before but I have read the information attached title for first time users of the blackboard platform and apparently my computer should be able to support the program so I am hoping I am good to go!!! Thanks again. Donna Ritchie

    • annemirtschin

      Hi Donna, I am sorry that I did not respond earlier. Did you encounter problems as I do not remember seeing you as a participant in the session? If you did, please let me know so that we can work through the issues. Would love to have you with us for Tech Talk Tuesdays so please feel free to come any time.

Leave a Reply

