Visualizing my journey to school……

This post is being written in response to Jess McCulloch’s challenge What does your journey to work look like. (without the filters)

1. It is time to feed the pet lambs before I start my journey to work.

2. Last night, severe winds caused a large shrub to fall across our 400m long track.

3. Before entering the main road, the flowers are put out in the buckets at our honesty flower roadside stall. The money tin is there payment. Aren’t the flowers pretty? I love spring time.

4.There was no traffic on the road today, so the cattle were peacefully grazing close to the fence. This is a neighbour’s paddock.

5. A straight 8 km stretch up the road to the Hawkesdale township sign

6. You can buy eggs at the honesty box just within the town limits

7. Two blocks down, it is turn left and into the school entrance gates

Check out the journeys of other global teachers and note the differences! Can you work out what country they are from. How are the journeys similar, how are they different?

  1. What does your journey to work look like? Jess McCulloch whose idea this all was! Thanks Jess.
  2. On my way to work Kim Cofino
  3. My journey to work  Kerri Beasley
  4. My Commute – Tokyo to Yokohama Rebekah Madrid

23 responses to “Visualizing my journey to school……

  1. Great idea for a lesson! And Australia seems a nice place to live.

    • Tatyana, I agree that this would be a great idea for a lesson. Get the students to share their journey to school visually and connect with other global students to share diferences and similarities. Hawkesdale is a wonderful place to live.

  2. I love the lambs photo. The difference between the first photo and the last made me laugh. From idyllic rural photo to hi tech photo in the space of a few kilometres!🙂

  3. You live in a special place.
    Enjoy the journey. Everyday.

  4. Love the Eggs and the honesty box. If only the rest of the world were that easy.

  5. I have started to take pictures of my journey to school. Because I don’t drive myself I can’t very well tell my driver to stop but on the weekend when I am out on my bike I am starting to take pictures of the sights I see. Trust me, they are much different from yours, though there is a real sense of home when I see your pictures because I grew up in a small town with lots of farms around.

  6. Isn’t it funny what we take for granted growing up in Australia. Honesty boxes were every where – for flowers, eggs, honey, and all types of fruits. This post is excellent and can definitely be used in the classroom. But it has also made me very homesick! Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Simone, we do take lots of things for granted in Australia and reading some of these comments has made me realise how lucky we are. There are strawberry stalls up now as it is their picking season, eggs for sale stalls and of course flowers. People sell manure for gardens from honesty stalls as well!

  7. What a special journey. The lambs are gorgeous. I have memories of honesty boxes for eggs and fruit on the road side in country Victoria. Not sure how many exist now.

    • Hi Tania, we still have a lot of honesty stalls within a 60km radius of where I live. So, the few things that might get stolen must by far, be outweighed by the honesty of the majority.

  8. Thanks for sharing your journey to work Anne – I arrive at school from the opposite direction, although some of the scenery is the same. Check it out at http://brittgow.posterous.com

    • Hi Britt I enjoyed looking at your photos. Some are the same, but others are different and it gives a great perspective to the beautiful rural countryside that we live in.

  9. Great stuff Anne! Oh I do miss a good country drive down that way🙂 I’m going to put all these journeys together somehow soon. Imagine kids doing it for their trip to school and putting them all next to each other. Simple but powerful stuff!

  10. When my wife, who is Romanian, came to England and saw an eggs and honesty box on the road in the countryside she couldn’t believe her eyes! She just didn’t believe people could be so honest!

    • @Andy, Australia is often called the lucky country and I realise the impact of this more and more. It is great to have honest people around the world. Thanks for the comment.

  11. Hi! Anne,
    This is definitely very nostalgic for me! The scenery and the honesty box all seemed so familiar to me and reminded me so much of my varsity days in New Zealand, especially while working in the orchard as a fruit thinner during my summer holidays! And also during my last trip back to NZ in 2007 visiting Rosalyn, a teacher friend who also lived on a farm in Feilding. In fact, I video-recorded my journey to school for Rosalyn and her students while our students were working on the Celcom Youth Ambassador Project here in Malaysia way back in 2005. Kudos! Anne for the beautiful photo blog of your journey to school!

  12. Pingback: My commute: Tokyo to Yokohama | Rebekah Madrid

  13. Hello again!
    I live in the north-west of Moscow, Russia and work at a distance school in the centre. I took some pictures on the way to school on September, 23rd. Here’s my plick:
    http://www.myplick.com/view/dz0wdM2J07V/My-way-to-school

    • Thanks Tatyana for sharing your journey to school. It is so very, very different to mine. I was intrigued that your train journey was 45 minutes long. Is it a slow train or a fast train. How long would it take if you had to drive your car there. I loved looking at your school, your workspace and most of all the golden foliage. We are in spring now, so every tree has their leaves now. What could we do next, to share contrasting countries and environments?

  14. Thank you for your comment, Ann. For me, it is a great idea to share such simple things. Continents come closer.😉
    In fact, the quickest way to go to school for me is by underground/metro. It once took me about 20 minutes to go to school by car (it was on a Saturday morning), but it usually takes about an hour, you never know for sure when you will arrive at the right place,as the trafic is really bad in Moscow, there are lots of jams. Once it took me five hours and a half to get home from school. So you have to get used to traffic jams if you live in a big city.
    Anne, I have tried ‘a view from my window’ with my former students (I still like the idea as it is always different), I like the idea of ‘a lunch box’ I once saw on wikispaces (we didn’t take part). I exchanged pictures of oak leaves with a teacher from Canada on Twitter. Flowers in the garden, cooking, traditional songs (the ones we sing at home), everything connected with our students’ everyday life will do.🙂 It is great fun!

    • Thanks Tatyana for explaining your journey to school. It only takes me 10 minutes and there are never traffic jams. Sometimes a tractor slows me down and sometimes there is a wallaby or small kangaroo jumping out on the road. How did you share the pictures etc. Did you use a wiki? I wish my students would sing, but they dont really. Singing is not a big part of our culture.

Leave a Reply

