A Spring Clean gives my Blog Muscle

About me in a collage!

About me in a collage

The third challenge in Kick Start Your Blog required us to consider pages as opposed to posts.  Pages can be likened to muscles as  they give power, weight, flexibiliity and depth to the blog.The “About Me” page is important. I did not realise how important it was until I studied my statistics and found that apart from two of my most visited posts, the ‘about me’ page came up as the third most visited. Daily statistics also confirm that someone is always looking at that page.

Before and After a Spring Clean giving  my “About Me” Page more muscle

After considering what makes an effective post, it is only appropriate that I aim for an effective blog page. As I tend to be conservative and lack a creative writing style, my “About Me” page is quite classical in nature.

Before the spring clean!

  • too much text
  • was far too long
  • included outdated information
  • lacked multimedia
  • no detail about my background, interests outside school, details of my school

After the spring clean

  • added a caption to the image of my school
  • included a description of the school I teach at
  • Added a link to my blog post 10 questions to ask my blog which I completed for challenge #1 of Kick Start your Blog
  • generally tidied up text, added lists with bullet points and sub headings
  • Added a 1 minute video that I have just completed as part of my application for the Google Teacher Academy to letting visitors see what my classroom looks like.
  • As there was far too much text, I shifted a great chunk “How I got started” to another page. I then added this to the parent category “About Me’ and on the navigation tabs, it now comes up as a sub page. I also added a link to it within the home page. (I was rather proud of this as I had never done it before and was not sure whether it would work, but it did!)

9 responses to “A Spring Clean gives my Blog Muscle

  1. I didn’t see your About page before, but I did see your before and after list. It looks great now, Anne. You are such an inspiration to the rest of us in the blogging challenge. Thanks for doing the same work we do for the challenge, and for adding all your fine comments on our posts. I pray the floods subside soon for you all. Denise

    • Thank you Denise for your kind words. I think it is only fair that I also complete the challenge and anyway I love all the extra networking this creates for me. You were quick! I had only just put my post and haven’t even added it to the challenge page yet.

  2. I love the collages and video. Now I’m inspired to add more multi-media to my blog as well. I know my students love videos. They watch the ones I embed over and over, but I haven’t done much with creating my own yet.

    • Hi Kay, our Dept of Education has subscribed to some wonderful software for our students and teachers. We have access to Microsoft Collage Maker and I just love using it. I like watching videos too and as I had made this one specifically about what I love doing in class, I thought it might be of interest to others.

  3. Hi Anne,
    Great work with your About Me page, and I am not surprised it is your third most visited page – everyone wants to know who the wonderful inspirational teacher is called “murcha”!
    I added a sub page to my About Me page too, for Professional Development I have done, but changed it to a separate page because I couldn’t see how people could access it. You will have to show me when we get back to school how to link a sub page within the home page. Thanks for all your great work and keeping us all motivated with your positive comments🙂

    • Hi Britt, thank you for your kind comment. However, I really think the search engines bring a lot of people to my blog. Then they want to know who is writing the post and go to the About Me page. I love the sub page feature, dont you? I am going to grab out some other info and add to a sub page and then add a bit about me, my family and farm in another sub page. Britt to link the sub page within the post, all I did was grab the url for the sub page, go back to the About Me Page, key in the heading of the subpage, highlight it and add the hyperlink as usual. Hope this makes sense.

  4. Pingback: Posts of the week – Visit these blogs -Week 2 | Teacher Challenge

  5. Anne
    I googled for a contact form. I probably got one suitable for Blogger then. My edublogs one comes with one., as far as I remember. So I guess if you google and find one for wordpress?
    Kathryn.
    Thanks too for comment about my page “People who inspire Me.” I will keep the page, and add to it as year goes by. Then I will read it when I feel like giving up on something. Sometimes the word that inspires just at the right time gives the impetus to get up, dust off, and keep going!
    Kathryn

  6. As I press the button I see your gmail to the right. So you do have the contact, but perhaps not readily seeable!?
    Kathryn

Leave a Reply

