Learning with Stats!

Statistics have always fascinated me. Therefore it is with some interest that I  look at the stats section of my wordpress blog often on a daily basis. These are the sections I like to look at the following

  • The numbers of visitors each day. Weekends are always quietest.
  • Incoming links is the most important source of knowledge to me, as it shows who is actually linking blog posts or pages to mine. I always try and comment back and thank them to enable further connections and encourage further visits to my blog.
  • who referred visitors to my blog – it often brings me to other interesting blogs, broadens my PLN but can be difficult to trace the actual origin of the link. WordPress has added an id feature to this eg twitter, wordpress, google reader etc
  • The search terms that people have used – often gives me prompts and ideas on further blog posts. Shows the importance of tagging and categories etc
  • The links that people have clicked on as a result of my blog posts. This gives an idea of the real purpose of the visit or further interest areas.

It was interesting to receive a recent email from the wordpress team where the summarised statistics for my blog over 2010.According to them, here is my Blogging Year in 2010:-

  1. 31,000 views
  2. 190 new posts (that is a fraction over 3 posts per week)
  3. uploaded 222 pictures
  4. busiest day of the year was September 27th with 563 views. The most popular post that day was Workshop – Students from SMJK Poi Lam School.
  5. Top referring sites were The top referring sites in 2010 were twitter.com, teachingdegree.org, theedublogger.com, delicious.com, and Google Reader.
  6. Some visitors came searching, mostly for school children, murcha.wordpress.com, anne mirtschin, virtual classroom, and elluminate.

Here are my all time top 5 blog posts:-

  1. Workshop – Students from SMJK Poi Lam School  September 2010 4 comments 
  2.  20 reasons why students should blog March 2008 73 comments 
  3.  Using skype in the classroom December 2008, 1 comments
  4. About Me   33 comments
  5. Around the World in 80 schools    February 2009, 4 comments

Leave a Reply

