One little tweety bird!!

One little tweety bird sitting on an e-fence…….

one little tweety bird
Two weeks ago, I  seriously pursued using twitter, but immediately felt just like the little bird in the cartoon above. I did so want to be part of the action now, immediately!! There were so many interesting conversations going on and at best I could just “listen” or watch the action.
……….Reflecting back to Sept 2007
Sitting at the staffroom desktop, I could hear Jess laughing away at her desk. Upon enquiring about the reason for her mirth, I discovered that it was the result of a comment on twitter. Not wanting to be left behind, I immediately registered a twitter account and followed 2 other people. Over three months I added 5 tweets and thought it was rather a waste of time.
………Forward to the present day
In my school holidays, I looked more closely at a discussion started by lizbdavis in classroom2.0 where so much enthausiasm was displayed for this web 2.0 telegraphy. Finding some usernames there, I entered them into the ‘find folks’ window of twitter.
Once in, I could see that short conversations of 140 characters were in progress. There were blog sites, various web 2.0 software evaluations and replies to requests for assistance. Often friendly banter took place. Initally, I followed 25 people. Some, I found by clicking on someone’s avatar and looking at who they were following. It was then possible to look at their followings etc. I was selective as I wanted an edtech twitter group not just a general public one.
However, only a few followed me, so I felt like that lone little tweety bird. A teacher Kate, from Wisconsin, USA,  started at the same time. At least we could converse with each other but both wished for interaction with the others.
Fortunately one of my chosen ‘following’ Sue, is a very caring, sharing experienced tweeter and blogger at emerging technologies in TAFE in Perth. She emailed me a list of 10 people who would be good to follow and would follow me back in return. These were such valuable contacts. From there I actively  pursued an edtech group.
Now, I have 89 people whom I follow and 61 people who follow me. This is a comfortable number at the moment. Twitter has a had an enormous impact on my social and professional network. My twitter friends now come from Australia, NZ, USA, Singapore, Israel , England, Bangkok etc So, come tweet with us, you wont be on the fence for long, if you wish to seriously participate.!!

10 Tips for newcomers
· Find someone who might be able to jumpstart you with a few good people to follow.
· Look on your favourite blog sites to see if a twitter username or icon is given.
· Do not expect to part of the fold immediately.
· Watch and listen so that you get an idea of the proceedings
· Join the conversation when you can with a prompt or a reply.
· Explore the site thoroughly. Click on avatars and wander around.
· Remember that the most popular tweeters may not be interested in following more people.  However it is still useful to read their conversations.
· Find a level you are comfortable with and move on when ready.
· Once comfortable, be pro-active in seeking more to follow.
· Take care as it can be extremely addictive!!

Some great tips at 10 easy steps for  twitter beginners.

21 responses to “One little tweety bird!!

  1. Anne:
    Woohoo, Toondo! You did a great job with this, so I will check it out. Great blog posting, and I found the same to be similar experiences for me;D

  2. Anne this is a great post and very useful. I will be putting in del.icio.us. Thank you

  3. I really Like this Post……Anne I am going to post a link to your blog…on my blog…Great post🙂

  4. Hi Anne, I had a similar experience. It is frustrating wanting to be a part of a conversation and not able to participate, but as you say it is important to be patient. I think my perfect school would be made up of twitters, can you imagine the swirl of ideas🙂

  5. Hi Anne, I’ve added this post to my twitter list at delicious. I like the way you have shared your ‘twitter journey’ – so nice for staff new to the experience. So looking forward to sharing some twitter experiences – and yes, some good laughs tool!!

  6. Oh, and I’ve ticked to follow you on twitter too🙂

  7. I had to laugh as I read this post. I just finished writing a comment on Chris Betchers blog. He was discussing his online journey and the times he’s been able to meet online friends f2f.

    In my comment, I was wishing for ways to help Twitter newbies feel more connected. The next blog I visited was yours, and there was the list. Cool in an eerie sort of way!

  8. Oh! And I forgot to say that I felt exactly like your little bird for months! Most of the first Twits I followed were in North America. They were most active when I was at work. Few tweets came in when I was online in the evenings.

    Now I have crazy people like Chris Craft and Jennifer Wagner in my list and I think they must not need sleep, and I have a great bunch of Asians, Australians and Kiwi’s on my list which has helped a bunch.

  9. Loved these tips! I felt the very same way the first go round with Twitter, but I actually did many of the things you listed and am now really enjoying the give and take of learning and sharing. I’m currently trying to get two other colleagues in my school to try Twitter long term and will refer this post to them. I really think most people don’t see the immediate value of this tool, but once you do, wow — you’re hooked on the collaborative benefits!

  10. Pingback: Join the Conversation! - Join the Conversation links - Sunday, January 20 2008

  11. Hi Anne,
    It was interesting to read your reflections about Twitter. I could relate to your journey quite a bit. It has been a real adventure finding people to follow, a challenge understanding the way it works, and exciting when people decide to follow back.
    I have added you to my links so I can keep up to date with your posts.

  12. It is great also to be able to follow up these interactions with the more face to face kind through Skype!!! It helps it become more real.

  13. Anne-
    I am excited to add you to my twitter list and look forward to hearing about your global collaboration with us via the Fluvi/Expo Zaragosa 2008 project.
    Help me find someone in Asia now and we can share the power of our PLN.(Professional Learning Network)

  14. How did I miss this post? Thanks for being my twitter/blog/pln friend – i’m glad we’re on this journey together! I JUST finished the meme and did my post🙂 sorry it took so long!

  15. Honestly Anne. You have become an utter power house. I really am so overjoyed at what you have achieved in such a short amount of time. Go girl!

  16. Thank you for your post. I have recently felt discouraged as the lone little tweety bird. You’ve given me the motivation to stick around a little longer.

  17. Thanks Anne,
    This is a great post, it is really helpful to read and lovely to someone as considerate and resourceful as yourself as my twitter buddy.
    I will link to this post from a wiki space I am building with some potential twitters at http://criticalliteracyandcreativity.wikispaces.com/The+classroom

  18. Pingback: Happy belated birthday dear blog!!! « On an e-journey with generation Y

  19. Hi Anne

    Seeing where you are now it’s amazing to think of you as that lone tweety bird. It’s somewhat comforting that you too felt this way. I often feel quite in awe of some of those I follow on Twitter. I have learned a lot in my following!

  20. Pingback: Proud, honoured yet humbled! « On an e-journey with generation Y

  21. Pingback: Twitter is for Teachers | On an e-Journey with Generation Y

Leave a Reply

