Tech Talk Tuesdays – Connected Classrooms

Tech Talk Tuesdays commences its series of webinars for 2013 on Tuesday March 5th, with Mel Cashen as guest presenter, speaking about Classroom Connections.

When: Tuesday, March 5th, 2013 at 4pm, Melbourne, Australia time (gmt+11) Check your day and time zone with timeanddate

About this session: Learn about the different ways connections can be made to open your classroom up to the world and provide authentic opportunities for learning.

In the 21st century our classrooms are fluid, vivid and exciting places, where we can create, collaborate and communicate with others easily. Technology allows us to connect students to their learning by providing real life experiences.

See how Skype was used to hear stories from around the world during book week or the power of twitter in setting up connections with classrooms for procedural writing.  Look at collaborative blogs, which have ben set up to connect students and develop writing skills. After being inspired by these connections, learn how to use tools such as Twitter, blogs, Google+, Skype and Blackboard Collaborate to access and create these connections.

About our presenter: Mel is an Educational Designer interested in making technology, empowerment and connected learners the norm in education. You can  follow Mel on twitter

Here is the link  to the recording of this exciting presentation. Please join us and share in the conversations.

2 responses to “Tech Talk Tuesdays – Connected Classrooms

  1. Hi, Anne,
    G’day – is that what they say in Australia????? I had not logged into my classroom blog for a while, so I didn’t even see your comment until today. Thanks so very much for commenting. I am newly retired, but I had to add a post today, March 7, 2013, to the Voice Thread collaborative the kids and I created last year after a number of them went on a wonderful trip to China. Do you use VoiceThread?
    Hope to be in touch with you again soon. I think a trip to Outback Steakhouse with my hubby is order. Your comment has inspired me. :)
    I posted this in response to your comment on my school blog at:

    http://evolvingclassroombethany.blogspot.com

    I have a personal blog – not updated for awhile – at Posterous:
    carolteach4.posterous.com
    It looks as if I’m going to have to move it to WordPress, as Posterous is closing down in April.

  2. Oh, Gosh – I posted before I read your post! It sounds exciting. I will definitely try to watch the recording later!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

