Community Connect Evernote with Trent Bourne

Having attended several face to face conference sessions and a number of webinars on evernote, I like the look of this app. It is cross platform, uses the cloud, syncs nicely with many tools and I like their style and support. Tonight, I took notes from Trent’s presentation as this is an app or tool that I want to play with and explore more over the summer holidays. Trent used airplay on his iPad to demonstrate some of these apps, as well as webtours and application sharing in blackboard collaborate of actual web pages.

Here are my summarized notes:-

Some apps that complement or sync with evernote (all free unless otherwise stated):-

  1. Penultimate (this one has a slight cost), works like a whiteboard – writing, drawing, scribbling, sketching
  2. Peek - great for revision and study purposes
  3. Skitch - annotate, use shapes and sketches etc using a smart cover to reveal the questions and answers. A mix of audio, text etc can be used. Great for languages.
  4. Shoe boxed - free one month trial. Keep receipts and other documents as digital documents with this app. Can send to evernote.
  5. Hello –  a great way to share the equivalent of business cards with options for photo, twitter handle, email, other social networking sites etc
  6. Evernote food - preserve memorable food experiences

Trent also demonstrated how to create stacks and answered numerous questions from participants.

From the chat came the following suggestions

Thanks Trent for an informative session. Now I need time to play. Have you used evernote? What is your opinion? How do you use it? Have you used all or any of the above apps?

2 responses to “Community Connect Evernote with Trent Bourne

  1. Hi, Anne. As I just mentioned in an email to you, I love Evernote. My only problem is I’ve gathered so many notes, I sometimes spend way too much time trying to find what I’m looking for. At least I know it is there. I need to become more savvy using the search features in Evernote. I do love how it syncs with any laptop I have it installed on as well as my iPhone and my iPad. Now, if I could just get a better organizational structure going:)
    By the way, I just followed you on twitter. I hope you will follow me @cstanley.

    • Thanks Carolyn for your comment. I use evernote when I go to conferences as I take a photo of the presenter, record some of the presentation and then add notes in text. Last night, Trent walked us through evernote and he had also heaps of notes. He used the search feature to find his stuff. Others suggested tags. Have you used tags?
      I shall have to find the link to the recording and add it back here for those who may be interested in watching the webinar.

Leave a Reply

